Representatives of major political parties, as well as experts in the fields of transatlantic relations and security policy, are represented on the Board and the Executive Committee (which is part of the Board) of the Netherlands Atlantic Association. The (unpaid) Executive Committee and Board meet at least twice and three times a year respectively.


Executive Committee

Dirk Jan van den Berg , Chairman
Chairman, Zorgverzekeraars Nederland (ZN)
Alex Krijger, Vice Chairman

Founder and Managing Partner of Krijger & Partners, former Senior Government Relations Advisor, Royal Dutch Shell

Marije Meines, Secretary

Senior Advisor, RadarAdvies

Michiel van Campen, Treasurer

Executive Director, Permits Foundation; Owner, Van Campen International Business Development

Angelien Eijsink
Freelance Advisor and moderator, Member of the Integrity Committee of the Dutch Ministry of Finance, Chair of the Advisory Board of the CAOP, former Defence spokesperson for the Social Democratic Party (PvdA); former Chairman, Standing Committee on Foreign Affairs, Second Chamber of Parliament
Hester Somsen, Observer for the Ministry of Foreign Affairs
Director of Security Policy, Ministry of Foreign Affairs
Marieke Monroy-Winter, Observer for the Ministry of Foreign Affairs
Head of the Security and Defense Policy Department, Ministry of Foreign Affairs
Erik-Jan van Oosterhout, Observer for the Ministry of Defence
Head NATO Department, Ministry of Defence




Salima Belhaj
Defence spokesperson for the Social Liberal Party (D66), Second Chamber of Parliament
André Bosman

Defence spokesperson for the Liberal Party (VVD), Second Chamber of Parliament


Norbert Both
Head Government Relations NL, Shell International


René Cuperus

Associate Fellow Clingendael Institute, Research Fellow Germany Institute at the University of Amsterdam (DIA)


Mostafa Hilali

Vice Director Department of Multi-Year and Commitment Planning, Army Staff Dutch Ministry of Defense


Ton van Loon
Former Commander, 1st German/Dutch Corps
Hans Luyendijk, Chairman Atlantic Education Committee
Former Principal, Dalton School, The Hague
Patrick Mikkelsen
Executive Director, American Chamber of Commerce in the Netherlands

Bram van Ojik

Member Defense and Foreign Affairs Committees for the Green party (GroenLinks), Second Chamber of Parliament


Elsine van Os
CEO and founder Signpost Six
Paul Scheffer
Publicist; Professor of European Studies, Tilburg School of Humanities
Hugo Triesscheijn, Netherlands Atlantic Youth

Master Military Strategic Studies, Netherlands Defense Academy


Truus Valkering
Former Director International Affairs, Tata Steel Europe
Ronald Vuijk
Former Defence spokesperson for the Liberal Party (VVD), Second Chamber of Parliament
Rein Willems
Former Chairman of the Board, Shell Nederland B.V.
(c) 2006 - 2020, Atlantische Commissie | Realisatie: Kant en Klare Site.